Skip navigation

Under Stars

The sleep of this night deepens

because Ihave walked coatless from the house

carrying the white envelope.

All night it will say one name

in its little tin house by the roadside.

I have raised the metal flag

so its shadow under the roadlamp

leaves an imprint on the rain-heavy bushes.

Now I will walk back

thinking of the few lights still on

in the town a mile away.

In the yellow light of a kitchen

the millworker has finished his coffee,

his wife has laid out the white slices of bread

on the counter.Now while the bed they have left

is still warm, I will think of you, you

who are so far away

you have caused me to look up the stars.

Tonight they have not moved

from childhood, those games played after dark.

Again I walk into the wet grass

toward the starry voices. Again, I

am the found one, intimate, returned

by all I touch on the way.

Leave a Reply

